New Year’s Resolution: A Year’s Worth of Cards

In January I made a resolution that was to change the way I look at my craft stash! I don’t normally make resolutions, but this year I decided not to buy any greetings cards for a whole year, making them myself instead. I love card making and I have a HUGE stash. But, if I’m totally honest, sometimes I’m reluctant to cut into a fine block of paper, preferring instead to gaze at its pristine loveliness! Who else can relate to that?

Also, and here’s another little secret home truth, I am ever so slightly obsessed with buying paper! So it seemed like a good way to make me use some of that gorgeous stash (‘course, that makes way for more, doesn’t it? Win win!)

Since then I’ve been busy making cards for all manner of occasions so that if I need one in a hurry I’ll have lots to choose from. I’ve even made a couple of Yule cards all ready for Christmas 2017. Way to go me!

tonic-entry-4-flip-flop

This card is one I made using a First Edition paper stack called Spring Feast, that I’ve had absolutely ages. I just love all its sparkly papers and I thought it would be nice to use for a flip flop greeting card, and as the February Challenge over at Win & Tonic is all about the bling, I’d thought I’d enter it as well.

The card shape is cut from the Sizzix Fancy Frame Flip Its die set. It makes a single flip flop card, but by sticking two together you get a really cute effect and twice the fun.

I cut the other shapes from my Tonic Garland Terrace die set and layered them up in various coordinating papers from Spring Feast. Hidden beneath the flip flops cut outs is a mini heart card, cut from Tonic’s Someone Special die set. I can either write a personal message in that or put a sentiment there.

There is sparkle all over this card, and who doesn’t like a bit of sparkle?

Crafty Hugs – Sandie x

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: A Year’s Worth of Cards”

  1. Very pretty card! I am also an owner of a small paper mountain, and also trying hard to be better at using it up. Not easy though. Mostly we just end up with smaller scraps, right?!

    Like

    1. Ah yes, ain’t that the truth! But I have 3 small appendages known as grandchildren, who are excellent user-uppers of scraps and unwanted die cuts. It helps me deal with the angst of ‘letting go’! S x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

