Flipbooks and snail mail – what’s that all about?

20170530_191853-e1497112228873.jpg

So I got interested in snail mail. I know. It’s been around forever, but then there was email and then there was Skype. There was messaging and of course, What’sApp. Yada yada. So I forgot how to write. Shameful, isn’t it?

Then one day, I happened across Puddleside Musings – have you visited yet? Oh, you really should, its a lovely website filled with all manner of crafty loveliness. And Emma at Puddleside Musings LOVES snail mail. She was writing about flip books and they were just divine little books that you make from cards and envelopes and other stuff and you fill them with goodies. I just couldn’t resist.

Emma has this whole snail mail thing going on with penpals, who swap flip books and pocket books, all stuffed nicely with journal cards and washi tape and other good things.

I’m not sure I can ever really go back to Snail Mail, now that I’ve walked on the dark side. But the great news is, flipbooks are fun to make and just as lovely to give, so making them is a win win. Writing letters is optional. 😉

Flipbooks, also known as pocket books are little books full of pockets just waiting to be filled with crafty gorgeousness, or photos, or anything that can conceivably be stuffed into small pockets and put in the post.

You can watch Emma’s video here, it really inspired me to try making my own first flip book. She makes them appear to be quite easy to make and they really are. I’ve made several now and I am quite hooked!

Here are some photos of one I made for my lovely sister. We are such great friends and she’s been a fan of snailmail forever, with little treats turning up in the mail for me at unexpected times, so it was nice to return the treat with a flipbook full of tags and other crafty loveliness. I also thought it would be a nice project for the Win & Tonic Monthly Challenge, so I used a palette of neutrals all the way through the book – I love how it turned out!

20170530_192118.jpg

Flipbooks are often made by creating pocket pages from envelopes, I used cards and envelopes but I wanted more pockets, so I made small envelopes to use on the other pages.

20170530_191803.jpg

I also used shapes that I cut from dies and simply turned them into pockets by sealing down on three sides.

I filled my pockets with tags, journal cards and die cut shapes that I thought my sis would like. Then I added some washi tape samplers and a card of ribbons.

I popped a handwritten note into the first pocket inside and tied the whole book up with a pretty ribbon. Then I popped the little package into the mail and waited for the reaction! I have to report that my sister was delighted and will be able to use all the little goodies on her own projects.

Now, who shall I make one for next? 😉

Till next time – big crafty hugs – Sandie xx

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Flipbooks and snail mail – what’s that all about?”

    1. Thank you Helen, I really enjoyed making the flip book, now I’m rather hooked! I love Emma’s blog too, and I love reading about her snail mail and watching her videos. 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

