Sizzling Summer is finally here – if only I was on Tonic Island!

Yes, the sun is shining and the temperatures are soaring, and those of us still in Blighty are sizzling hot and wondering why the weather always leaves us unprepared, come rain, hail or heatwave!

If only I was on Tonic Island, sipping a cool cocktail and listening to the sound of the surf, instead of land locked here in the mid country, enjoying the dubious pleasures of our unpredictable and unreliable climate.

Tonic Island
A postcard from ‘Tonic Island’

But speaking of Tonic Island and all things related to my favourite purveyor of crafty treasures Tonic Studios , leads me on to … *drumroll* … I WON the Win & Tonic Challenge for May!  Cool, huh? Check out my fantastic prize here.

So right now, I want to send a huge thank you to the team who runs the fabulous Win & Tonic, and if you haven’t checked it out yet, you should head on over and maybe play along, its lots of fun to join in.

I love this month’s challenge, which is: Colour – hot colours, Technique –  anything goes, Product – any flower dies or punches, Theme – a card for a girlie or lady (my favourite cards to make!) 

So to get started, I took a basic yellow card, which I think looks pretty summery. The textured card stock I chose to cut my shapes from is shocking pink – and you can’t get much hotter than that!

I wanted to try one of my fabulous prize dies, so I chose Flora. I wanted to use all of the cut pieces, so I made a pocket using the lacy cut-out.

Just so you know, this die was a dream to use, and only required one pass through my Big Shot. There were four in the Essentials Collection that I won: Ada, Constance, Evelyn and Flora. They are all gorgeously lacy and ultra feminine and cut through card stock supremely well.

Next, I stuck the ‘negative’ cut of the die to the top part of my card. I wanted to use all of the pieces I had cut, and I had one little trim left. On my desk I found a small trim left from when I tried out Evelyn, and I’d cut it in sizzling orange cardstock – how ‘hot’ is shocking pink and vibrant orange? I stuck my trim down and placed the small pink trim over the top – voila!

June Entry 2A

I really wanted to cut a flower out, so using some thinner card stock I cut 6 layers of flower shapes in two sizes. I punched a hole in the middle of each and smudged the edges using a red ink pad. Then I spritzed them with water and scrunched them up! Oh, how satisfying that was!

When my petals were dry, I joined them together with a red brad and placed them slightly off the corner of the card. Almost done, but not quite.

June Entry 2B

I cut a journal card from hot pink and yellow and layered on a sentiment from the latest Tonic Design Collection. I cut a tag using the free die and stuck it to the journal card. Using the free embossing folder I made a Happy Birthday panel and popped it onto the back of my journal tag.

Now I’m done! Best of all, I have a bright glamorous friend who will love to receive my sizzling hot summer birthday card!

What do you think guys?

Big crafty hugs – Sandie xx

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sizzling Summer is finally here – if only I was on Tonic Island!”

Leave a Reply

