Happy Thoughts

Its been a crazy few weeks.

First I decided to sort out our den a.k.a our garage a.k.a the room where we stuff everything we don’t know what to do with. It had become a hell hole and I could no longer bear to go in there, which was less than convenient because, you know, there was stuff down there. Useful stuff. I was sure it was there, only I couldn’t be sure because I couldn’t find it. You know how it goes.

Anyway. We cleared it out and by the time it was done, well, there was space for me to invade with my craft stuff, which meant more room for crafting in my den a.k.a one of our bedrooms.

Then there was a visit with the grandchildren and a worrying time with a young member of the extended family in hospital – fortunately now home again and recovering nicely.

When I got back there was the usual round of washing and ironing that you always end up with when you’ve been away.

Finally, I stopped moving – and it occurred to me that I hadn’t blogged for simply ages. So I thought I’d catch up by posting these happy journal cards I made while I was away. I actually made these as an entry to the Win & Tonic challenge for June.

I like making journal cards, they’re such a cute size to work with and when they are done you can use them in so many ways – in your planner, on scrapbook pages, as card toppers or pop them in the post as happy mail to a friend.

And I absolutely adore finding inspirational quotes. Happy quotes. Words that make you smile when you read them. The world is too sad. I like happy thoughts and when I find them, I want to share them.

Flowers

I made these three as a set, because the quotes seemed to work really well together and because I love sets of anything!

I cut a journal card and an ATC for each, then smudged the edges and layered them.

Butterflies

I die cut embellishments to complement the words.

I printed the text from my computer and smudged the edges of the cut pieces, sticking them with double sided tape and dimensional spacers to add depth.

Beauty of Dreams

I kept the colours fairly soft and kept the splashes of sizzling pink to a minimum. I really wanted a dreamy look to go with the words.

I loved the way these cards turned out. They make me happy every time I look at them. In fact, I love them so much that I think I shall make a wall decoration with them.

Happy Cards
Journal Cards

What do you guys think?

Big crafty hugs – Sandie xx

 

One thought on “Happy Thoughts”

Leave a comment